21 stages Meditation heading.jpg
smiling spiral.jpg

March 23-24, April 6-7 and May 11-12, 2019

You can still join us for the 3rd Journey!

Open to all meditators, new on the journey or experienced traveler! REGISTER NOW

Train your mind to develop your inner peace, stability & grace.

We are delighted to be offering this outstanding course at Spirit Rising Yoga Center in Chicago, for anyone who wishes to dive deep into understanding the meditative process and deepen their meditative experience. This course fosters a deeply personal experience of your Infinite Nature. Meditate deeply and give yourself to the transformational process that will free you to be YOU—stronger, clearer, and more radiant!


Your Course Trainers:

S.S. Shiva Singh Khalsa, E-RYT 500, Mentoring Lead Trainer

Shabad Kaur Khalsa, LCPC, LMFT, E-RYT 500, C-IAYT, Lead Trainer

Puranpreet Kaur, RYT 500, Associate Trainer


Registration fees:

All 3 Journeys: $990 Each Individual Journey: $375

For those taking the course again:

All 3 Journeys: $590 Each Individual Journey: $250

Days meet at 8:30 am until approximately 6:30 pm with a 1 hour Lunch Break.
Please note that due to the nature of the course end times may vary.

Why 21 Stages?

By articulating and describing each of the 21 Stages of Meditation, Yogi Bhajan has captured in words the states of consciousness that are experienced by those who use meditation to enhance their lives in their inner journey for happiness, fulfillment, and peace of mind. The 21 Stages of Meditation course gives you the tools and experiences to deepen your meditation and come to a profound understanding of your Self. As you progress through three meditative “Journeys” towards Realization, the class explores the natural structure and qualities of each of the 21 stages.

The experiences of one stage support the progress in the next stage. You can explore any of the stages on your own as an individual practice as the benefits of each meditation stands on its own. However, the power of practicing an entire Journey comes from the intensity of the practice when done in sequence, within a concentrated period, and in a community of practitioners.

“My idea to teach you my dear ones is that you may not have to go to Tibet to find a Lama to learn it. My entire intention is that some fortunate ones who are seeking God-consciousness and realization as a human being should be provided this technical know-how. It is not difficult to reach that consciousness and be creative while living in this seen world while relating to the Unseen. There is nothing very special which you have to relate to. The techniques you need are all very simple processes and are in this body and mind. All we have to do is condition this lock and unlock the system for your energy and consciousness.” - Yogi Bhajan

Who can take this course?

Anyone who sincerely practices meditation. This course will broaden the scope and understanding of meditation, and open new doors of perception in your life and in your practice. We find it is useful to attend a Kundalini Yoga class to have a better grasp of the approach.

Have you just started taking Kundalini Yoga?

This course is a powerful foundation for deepening your understanding of meditation as taught by Yogi Bhajan.

Have you been practicing and teaching Kundalini Yoga for years?

Long time Teachers have said over and over what a great course 21 Stages was for them. This course reawakens your passion for the practice and provide the groundwork for a new understanding of how far you have come and where you want to go.

What do you mean by “First Journey”?

The entire 21 Stages of Meditation course consists of 3 “Journeys” or meditative processes. Each Journey is taught over a 2-day course.

Do I have to take the Journeys in order?
Not necessarily. This course is designed to be taken repeatedly as you continue on your journey of meditation and contemplation. You may take the Journeys in any order and retake them as often as you like. If your schedule allows participation in only 1 or 2 of the Journeys at this time, you may enroll in the third Journey when this course is offered in the future.

I’ve taken this Journey before, should I take it again?
Yes! Each time you approach these powerful meditative practices you are in a different place in your life and will have different experiences and insights. This is a course that was created to be experienced as desired.

First Journey, March 23-24, 2019: The Crystallized Self

The focus of the first journey is to recognize, experience and crystallize the Self. The blocks are encountered in the first four stages: upset, boredom, irritation and frustration. The first ascent starts when we have a sense of our Self, separate from all the commotions, emotions and sensory impulses. we can begin to focus and recognize a still point, a nucleus within, which is the Self. It is this crystallized sense of Self that is needed for consciousness to work.

Stage 1 – Upset | Stage 2 – Boredom | Stage 3 – Irritation | Stage 4 – Frustration | Stage 5 – Focus | Stage 6 – Absorption |tage 7 – Experience and Crystallize the Self

The second Journey: April, 6-7: The Expressive Self

The initial challenge is to develop a sensitivity to the Self, as we engage in relationships and participate in life. When we take the seed of our Self and our identity and project it into the world, it expands. We cultivate the meditative skill to merge with our projection, yet still be able to distill our Self from the various roles we play. In this way, this second Journey prepares us to maintain our integrity in action and to find the stillness within every action.

Stage 8 – Rasa | Stage 9 – Delight | Stage 10 – Politeness | Stage 11 – Humility | Stage 12 – Elevation | Stage 13 – Graceful Enlightenment | Stage 14 – Express and Be Your Self

Third Journey, May 11-12, 2019: The Transcendent Self

In this final Journey, we recognize all that we are as the formless presence of the infinite Self. We open the dimension of our Transcendent Self. This Journey requires us to go beyond differences and similarities into reality and unity. By forging an elevated identity with our infinite Self within our finite self, we become spontaneous, creative and flexible. We excel in this infinite game of the soul. Love, compassion and kindness become the core of our experience. At the peak of this Journey we become the nothing within the center of all that is. The sacred space opens to intuitive presence, which serves innocence, loves life, blesses all, and praises the Infinite, the all within All. You become you, we become realized human beings.

Stage 15 – Presence Like a Beacon | Stage 16 – Everywhere Radiance | Stage 17 – Prayerful Stillness | Stage 18 – Preacher | Stage 19 – Teacher | Stage 20 – Sage | Stage 21 – Infinite Pulse

It is recommended that you have experienced some Kundalini Yoga as taught by Yogi Bhajan by attending several classes beforehand. 

Though open to the public, This course contributes to KRI Level 3 Certification within The Aquarian Teacher™ Training Program. Completion of this course will give you credit towards that program, after you complete Level 1 and 2.  It also qualifies for RYT hours with Yoga Alliance and IKYTA CEUs. 

Registration fees:
All 3 Journeys: $990 Each Individual Journey: $375


21 Stages of Meditation Book
The "21 Stages of Meditation" book contains the meditations that will be covered during the course. It is not included in the course fee, but we strongly encourage you to order the book to support your participation in the program. If you wish to purchase it, place your order through Spirit Rising Yoga for $35, a 20% discount off retail price. Click here to Order a 21 Stages Book.